Summer Vibe

I just wanted to write a quick update in case you are wondering how some things are going. My Guide Dog application is complete and I have a home interview scheduled which makes everything seem really real. I’ve seen some friends on Facebook who are in the process of training with their dogs and it’s so so exciting. I’m going to be on the cancellation list, and if all the stars align, I will go to training this summer before I start school. I’ll just have to wait to see how it all shakes out but I’m adopting realistic optimism as my attitude for the time being. Worst case scenario, I will have to wait until sometime next year to get my dog. Either way, a guide dog feels like a step in the right direction for me to continue to grow as an independent blind woman.

Also upcoming is my Summer Orientation for Seattle University. It still feels like a dream that I am able to go to this school in the city I love. It’s not the easiest route I could have chosen, by far. The school is expensive and I’m going to have to work hard But it’s going to be worth it. I feel like I’m really going to blossom in college and I can’t wait to start working towards my career.

My other summer plan is that I’m going to be interning at DO-IT, a camp that I went to a few years ago. It’s for young adults with disabilities who are interested in STEM and college bound. I’m looking forward to mentoring students as I was mentored before. That camp helped me gain much of my confidence and realize what kind of things I wanted to achieve.

All of these things are floating through my mind and giving me all kind of mixed feelings. Right now though, I’m just soaking in simmer and time with my family. I’m reminded now that rough patches can’t last forever and that sometimes a loss is really your circumstances changing to get ready for your future. I don’t know what’s going to happen, but I know that I have come this far and nothing is going to stop me from achieving my dreams

 

Leave a Reply

